Interface Critique

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Vaaish, May 5, 2020.

1. Vaaish

Vaaish Cadet

So I realize Adam has been focused on gameplay and the visuals are being updated over time like with the 1.1 update to the shipsets and a few other things. I think the gameplay is pretty spot on with the core concepts so kudos there for that. However, one area I feel is sorely needing an update is the interface. By way of background, I'm a product designer who's been stuck in his house for far too long due to the pandemic and decided to write something up for fun as a exercise. Maybe it'll have something useful for ISG, maybe it won't. :)

Thought on the interface:

Consistency

The interface is inconsistent in presentation and occasionally function. Some elements have an inner glow applied rather heavily while others are much more subtle or none at all. Personally I don't think the glow is adding anything to the interface and is distracting from the content by reducing contrast making some content not as readable. See how the overview panel looks vs the end turn button. The end turn button looks much cleaner and crisper.

upload_2020-5-5_18-26-11.png

Angles used on various elements aren't consistent or are oddly shaped. Case in point, the leaders button on the governor panel within the planet screen. Also see the finished construction tooltip. Consistent angles used on these elements would make the interface feel more unified.